Posted by: DD | August 22, 2009

IF I HAD TO HAVE PAID FOR THAT VISIT OUT OF POCKET, IT WOULDN’T HAVE BEEN WORTH THE $100 FEE. GOOD THING I HAVE INSURANCE, HUH?

Well, it’s not…

  • Chicken Pox
  • Fifths Disease
  • Hand, Foot & Mouth
  • Roseola
  • Shingles
  • Molluscum Contagiosum

But he does think it’s viral, especially since at the last visit a week ago to the pediatrician, the other guy said she had an ear infection (but I’m still rolling my eyes at that one) and the loose stools.

The rash on her face is most likely contact dermatitis, a.k.a.: Drool Face.

I know. The suspense was killing you. But now you know as much as I do about ZGirl’s rash, which really if you were to sit back in your chair and gaze up to your ceiling and contemplate, it wouldn’t be much at all.

So, uh, yeah. Carry on with your weekends, people.

Responses

  1. Well at least it is not any of those things! Is it bothering her?

  2. Glad it doesn’t sound too serious, but I hope it clears up soon. Poor girl. Poor Mom!!

  3. Aha! It’s what I suspected all along! A Rash! Treat with cool water. Send my $100 asap. Thanks.

  4. Oh for chrissakes, then how did it get all over her back, and so evenly placed!

    See, this is why the Canadian system is better, cause when I get a stupid doctor, I don’t have to pay out of pocket. (Ok, I STILL resent that they get paid at all, by anyone, but if i never see the bill, my resentment level is lower.)

    If it doesn’t clear up soon, try the claritin liquid for kids, and some benadryl. Like I said, they will not affect a viral or “contact dermatitis” rash, but if it’s an allergy, you’ll know right away.

  5. Did she take antibiotics? Sounds like Myles’ mild reaction to whatever it was he took for his ear infection(s) (sorry…can’t remember the name of the stuff at the moment…I blame old age).

    • I did not get the ‘script for the AB filled that we were given the first time I saw the doc about the rash. I didn’t like his, “whatever she has, this should take care of it,” logic. With antibiotics clearly overused for every little thing causing more problems than what it’s worth, I decided that the negative affects didn’t outweigh the little chance of it working.

  6. P had that very same rash a couple of times!! It too was pretty much undiagnosed, with the doctor saying, “Maybe she’s just prone to rashes”. Because I’m a blind follower, I just assumed that he knew what he was talking about and the rash did go away after a couple of days. Meh.


Leave a Reply

Categories

