Posted by: DD | August 26, 2009

WHAT?! IT COULD WORK.

I was reading about what is causing our health care costs to rise and repeatedly noted that 78,000,000 (78 Million for you three-zero-comma challenged) Baby Boomers are hitting retirement age and subject to the extra medical needs that all old people need; and that these same old-farts-to-be will have at least $166,000 in out of pocket medical expenses if retiring today and living to 100.

Do you realize that if we killed off the Baby Boomers*, the U.S. could apply almost $13,000,000,000,000 to the deficit?? Of course, if you want conservative numbers since not all of these BBs will live to be 100, we could lower the estimate to $6,000,000,000,000.

13 Trillion Dollars (or a minimum of 6 trillion)!

Hey, you want to talk Death Panel? I’ve got your Death Panel right here!

*To my two sisters who are technically categorized as Baby Boomers. . .  I’ll miss you. Really.

Responses

  1. I like your way of thinking! My oldest 2 sisters are just outside the baby boomer range, though. Do you think we could expand a little?

  2. I read an opinion piece once about fat people and how we (society) should be encouraging fatties to get and stay fat. We (being a member of the fatties) cost money, yes, but since our life span is so much shorter we actually are better for health plans because we won’t be living to 100 and racking up all those bills. The guy had a point. 🙂

  3. There is a great funny book by Christopher Buckley called Boomsday which is about this topic exactly. I love all his stuff, but this one is one of my favorites.

  4. Shit. Exactly how old are boomers again? I may want to go into hiding.

  5. I would miss my parents, so I guess I’ll have to pass on this for now. Then again, they’re pretty healthy in general so perhaps we can reevaluate when they’re spending my (hahahahaha!) inheritance on healthcare 😉

  6. I am technically categorized as a BB as well…..fortunately for all of you, I am healthy. I intend to stay that way.

    Cranky….but healthy!!!

  7. I wouldn’t have so many people to Christmas shop for if we could get this started between now and December….


Leave a Reply

Categories

