Posted by: DD | September 15, 2009

THE IMPOTENCE OF A GUD EDUMACATION

Hi am from western,Nebraska i can see the concearn in this sitution. On one hand you have a old school that could be shutdown and kids would have to be consolidated. this is what happend to our town four years ago. And has not been the same since. Give this a thought there will be no friday night football games in the fall or baseball game’s in the summer. Also this will be good reason for the younger familys that are left in the community to leave cause there is no school there for there children to go to. Then what local businuss you have will start to close up plainly put with no school the town will slowly die off. On the other side of the fence is build a new school and spend allot of tax payers money wich probably is mostly older farmers and ranchers in the area wich have seen there kids go though school allready. And if they build it will it stay open in the next ten years. I would hope it would cause it might let some of existing young to want stay in the town they grew up in where they had wonderfull childhood memorys that they want there kids to have. And possibly take over dads farm or store or open one of there own. What this gets down to is without a shool you will just support the next town that keeps there school open and there business and will have to drive there to get grocerys and other items you use everyday. I hope the town XXXXXX will take the risk of building a school.

There are only 276 words in this comment to an article in our local paper. I think my eyes were bleeding by the 100th and my brain imploded somewhere around word 204.

This poor bastard is living proof of what happens when rural schools are consolidated instead of making major rennovations or building new. Please, PLEASE, don’t let this happen to your community and pay the higher taxes already.

Responses

  1. WordPress ate my comment. The language wasn’t THAt bad! I’ll try again.

    Bloody Hellfire. Ouch. I may murder the English language from time to time, but at least I don’t spit on the corpse.

    g

  2. bwaaaaaaaaaaaahahahhahaahahahaahahah

    that’s harsh!! I think my brain is oozing out of my ears now…

    I’m glad there’s a school in my small community- my daughter is 1 of 8- grade 3/4 split, french immersion.

    What a shame that schools get consolidated and spread the kind of edumacation that causes letters like that!!

  3. I’ve lived here nine years. The School Board has started closing procedures on our (fifty-four kids, grades primary through sixth) village school FOUR times during that time. Each time, my tiny little community has fought HARD to keep it open.

    Although we’ve never tried the redneck approach.

  4. oh my hail, that was wretched.

  5. If you hadn’t clarified this was from your local paper, I would have sworn this was written about Mississippi (doesn’t matter which town…. it’d sitll be SPOT ON.)

  6. and the irony is that I managed a typo in my own comment making fun of MS schools. Alanis was right….

  7. We need to start with the teachers! I don’t think it’s acceptable by any stretch of the imagination for a teacher to send out letters and emails without even so much as running them through spell check. I live in the highest taxed county in my state, our school district is in the top 20 in the entire US – yet my daughter had an email sent home from her chemistry teacher that didn’t include capital letters or periods. Then, as if that wasn’t enough – my son’s college professor handed out information on his class with syllabus spelled wrong – not once, but TWICE. So, apparently this has become acceptable?! How can you require students to use correct spelling and grammar in their work, when the bloody teachers can’t even do it?

    If a teacher can’t spell syllabus correctly – they shouldn’t be creating one.

    It *really* pisses me off.

  8. I’m not sure if this supports closing the school (due to inferior teaching) or keeping the school open (hoping that some learning will eventually take place). I won’t quibble with the sentence structure and idea flow, as I frequently see things like that stream of consciousness coming from my husband, but why not spell check?

    I find it extremely insulting when people in my chain of command can’t be bothered to write intelligible emails. I know they’ve been through a grammar and usage course – it’s part of management training. So, I can only assume that they think I’m an idiot and won’t notice.

  9. Wow, I couldn’t even read that. They did combine schools in my MIL’s home town in VERY rural Mississippi and literally the only people left in that town are really old people.

  10. That could have been written by several people I know. In fact, my husband’s uncle just used “allot” in a FB status yesterday. You know, working on his living room was allot of work. (ARGH.) I admit, I didn’t make it through that entire comment, because I started to itch after the second line.

  11. Now my head hurts.

  12. I nearly had a seizure trying to decipher that.

  13. OMG… I gave up halfway through… I couldn’t do it any more. It was too painful….


Leave a Reply

Categories

